Telegram February Update: Auto-Delete Messages – Digitalmunition




News 1

Published on February 28th, 2021 📆 | 2185 Views ⚑

0

Telegram February Update: Auto-Delete Messages

Telegram is winning hearts for its stern control over the security of the messaging application and providing more control to the users. Control in the sense that users have full information regarding their existing data on Telegram. This month’s update brings Auto-Delete, Expiring Invite Links, and New widgets for the users.

2

Auto-Delete Messages
Auto-Delete messages feature was available in Telegram since 2013 but did not provide the same level of control as it does now. Message pileup is common in the group and personal chats with media and documents take up too much space on the device. It makes the conversations much longer to traverse and find any meaningful sense from it. By enabling an auto-delete timer, users can set a timer that will delete the messages without requiring them to select each chat participant or selective messages.

The perplexing thing about the feature is that it will only delete messages that you send after updating to the latest version of Telegram. Existing messages can be deleted for both parties but the auto-delete timer can only be enabled after sending a message. The range that you can select for auto-deletion varies from 24 hours to seven days. You cannot send personal time durations as of now, but that would be a more useful feature for the auto-delete feature. Take note that the timer is immediately activated after a message is sent, and can be modified by the creator, or the admin. To view the countdown, simply hold the message to reveal the time left until its deletion and a few modification options.

  • To enable the timer on Android, Open a chat, select a message and then tap ⋮, Now navigate to Clear History then choose a duration.
  • On iOS, press and hold a message, tap Select, Clear Chat, and Enable Auto-Delete.

Home Screen Widgets
The home screen widgets receive a major overhaul. Now apart from the message counter that you see on a Shortcut widget, the chat widget will display the conversation and the photo of your selected participants. You can directly reply to messages, that rather than completely opening the application in case of a Shortcut Widget. The widget feature on Android will dynamically update the contents with each incoming message, while on iOS devices, the widgets will refresh after a certain time duration. Telegram did not disclose the reason behind the difference and labeled it as a system limitation.

  • To add a widget, press and hold on your home screen, then tap Widgets on Android and search for Telegram.
  • To add a widget, press and hold on your home screen, then tap on (+) on iOS and search for Telegram.

Expiring Invite Links
Invite links now can be configured to expire automatically. There is also an option to restrict the number of users that can join using the invite link, with the maximum threshold being no limit. The link expiration date offers the users to choose from one hour, one day, one week, and no limit, expiration options. The number of uses can also be set that provides control over the usage of a link for limited times. You can also convert a link into a QR code and send it to users, participants or spread the word easily. Telegram also provides statistics on which mode was most effective or easy for the participants to join the invite.

  • To view and manage invite links, tap to open your Group or Channel’s Profile.
  • Navigate to Edit and then Invite Links.
  • Tap (⋮) or (⋯) to convert a link to a QR Code.

Groups have a 200000 maximum capacity to communicate with each other. Now the limit is scrapped and unlimited users can be added to a channel or a group. The only catch is that the admins and moderators can send messages if the count exceeds 200000. By converting the Groups into Broadcast Groups, admins can allow unlimited members.

1

Apart from these major modifications, users get new animated emojis. To check an animation, simply send a single emoji in the chat. You can also import chats and sort them using the original date. The report feature is also reinforced to provide more information about the complaint. Users can now select specific messages to report and can also add comments specifying the nature of the report.

Tagged with:



Leave a Reply